Lord’s Prayer A Meditation – Petal Two

Lord’s Prayer A Meditation – Petal Two

Yesterday, we started our lessons on meditating upon the Lord’s Prayer. We praised our Father and Mother in Heaven and blessed our older brother, Jesus as our Savior. Today, we concentrate on Petal Two: May your kingdom come, may your will be done.

When you think about it, that is a very powerful statement. When we utter those words, what are we saying? Better yet, what are we asking for?

This is our first promise we made before our coming to earth. We must fulfill this before we do anything else. Without this everything else we try to do will not be successful. First, we promised to create Heaven on earth.

Each and every one of us is a heavenly temple. How do we create the environment that it becomes a Temple of God?

We surrender to the will of God, the grand creator. We need to shelf our ego-driven desires to follow the destiny of God. He is the one who knows what the temple will be before we place the corner stone. We are but spiritual adolescents.

The first and most difficult step is to surrender to the divine will. Once you have accepted that before your birth you made a promise to fulfill, a unique purpose in God’s plan. You must surrender to that purpose and surrender completely. Think back to when you were a teenager. Did we not rebel against the will of our parents; only to find out later they knew something that we did not? And later on, did we not think to ourselves how smart our parents were?

Surrender and obedience, as harsh as those words sound, become the most liberating words that we will ever speak. It is the very act of surrendering that gives us the inner peace we all seek. When we work at our selected careers, are we not surrendering to the greater good of the organization or company, regardless if you are the employee or employer? If we do not then the company will fail and we will be out of work. Remember, God is the architect of our lives, and Jesus is the Foreman.

Your will, not mine, will be done; say these words often. Scream them to the world. Say them out loud often. You need to hear these word as well as to visualize them; for those with eyes that see and those with ears that hear.

Here’s a concept to contemplate: Your dreams are not accidental. What you dream of doing is your soul’s way of reminding you of what you are here on earth to fulfill – your promise to God. Comprehending and accepting this truth with all your heart and soul will make you feel better. In addition, it will open your heart and soul to God to greater opportunity and erase any lingering disappointments you cling to.

 I lay open my pain, hardships, challenges to accept the knowledge there is a lesson for me in them; which will advance my spiritual journey. I surrender to Your will; for you are the ultimate wisdom. I pray you will help me to see the point of this lesson sooner rather than later; so I may go forth with my life in service to You.

I make these affirmations to God through my older brother, Jesus on a daily basis. They never fail when I make them sincerely and honestly. I find that when I do this with open voice and surrender to His will, I am also surrendering my pain, my hardships and my challenges to Him. Here is the surprising result of that surrender. Throughout my life, when I lay my challenges at His feet an answer will come; but not always on my schedule. Remember, there is our time and then there is God’s time.

Sometimes God answers our surrender with, “I have something better planned for you.”

Wow, that sounds like what my parents use to do to me when I was but a child. This is the toughest and most challenging of what we have to do on a daily basis, surrender to the Will of our parents in Heaven. It is hard let go of the controls in our lives. Try repeating this:

Jesus, I give this day to you. Let me do Your will and not mine. Please, guide me along this path and to stay within the proper lane. I will be in service to You and will do so with love and joy in my heart.

I pray that you will find this to be healthy and great preventive medicine. When I affirm this on a daily basis, I find little need feel like I am “Free Falling” through my day. I am reminded of the great song by Tom Petty. When I surrender to God on a daily basis, I have little need to “leave the world for a little while”. When we surrender to God on a daily basis, He will give the keys to a glorious future. We are also reminded of the greatest gift Jesus gave us; through Him all things are possible.

About scotthhendricks

I make my home on the great northern plains of South Dakota, where the winters are bitter and the summers brutal. It is a good place to shape a vision and to dream. It is even a better place to call home, write about and capture the personality of in pictures. I am a Christian of the Cathar and Gnostic faith. I am a writer, photographer and self taught gourmet cook. I also dabble in genealogy.
This entry was posted in religion, spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment